We have walked 2,000 miles

One never reaches home, but wherever friendly paths intersect the whole world looks like home for a time.

-Hermann Hesse, Demian

We are about a day and a half from the Washington border, we reached Timberline Lodge last night at mile 2107. It’s crazy to think that we have only about 550 miles to go, and that those miles don’t seem like such a long way. Oregon has been beautiful,  meandering and making our way where lava once flowed, walking through fields full of lupin and aster blooms, and getting killer views of glacier covered mountains. The Three Sisters Wilderness was probably one of my favorite parts of the trail, and we’ve had some lovely traveling companions along the way. We ran into old friends we haven’t seen for months, Ken and Sniper, and met new people that we have heard about through the grapevine. We had a great day hiking with Sniper, and father and daughter team, Balls and Sunshine, from Elk Lake to Lava Camp near highway 242. The time flew by as we hiked and talked, shared and laughed.  My aunt’s Steen and Sue picked us up in Sisters and we were able to spend some quality time with them, and were spoiled with fresh veggie dishes, good conversation, and good company . They then met us again at Timothy Lakes, and Sue hiked yesterday with us from Timothy Lakes to Timberline Lodge. All of these interactions make me think of the above mentioned quote.  This section of trail is all new to me, and it’s like a treat everyday to wake up and start with a fresh slate. We were walking along the trail the other day and I looked back and Pyrite had a leaf hanging off his overgrown beard. He has taken to trying to grab as many blueberries as he can without breaking stride. I want to keep that image in my mind.

Anyway, I realize I haven’t been the best about the updates, and I’m not sure when we will get a chance to get to internet next, so I just want you all to know that we are still happy and healthy, still enjoying the hike, and appreciate all your kind words and thoughts as we continue on.

Peace and Love,

Chinchilla

12 thoughts on “We have walked 2,000 miles

  1. Your Mom will send your fleece to the Cracker Barrel at White Pass, priority mail so it should be there on time. Hope you don’t get too cold before then!

    Love
    Dad

  2. “If I can see it, then I can do it”
    “If I just believe it, there’s nothing to it”
    “I believe I can walk”
    “I believe I can reach Canada”
    “I think about it every night and day”
    “Spread my toes and walk away…
    R. Kelly

  3. I’m glad to hear that everything is still wonderful!! keep it up and I can’t wait to see your lovely pictures when I see you guys in December!

  4. Keep going guys!! I just got off the trail at a little near the 2,000 mark. It was just “time.”. :(. Kiss the Canadien marker for me!!

    Dug
    Aka “Rawhide”
    http:// thf2.wordpress.com

    • Hey Ashley,

      I’m sad we didn’t get to see you! We may be coming through Portland on our way down south, so if we could catch you, it’d be great to see you! Wishing you well in going back and doing the good work in TZed! Nakutamia maisha mwema dada yangu:)

  5. Chinchilla,
    I have so enjoyed following your journey north. Great photos and entertaining commentary! Thank you for sharing this awesome accomplishment with those of us who aren’t on the long PCT for the summer. Best Wishes for a beautiful end of the trek in Canada!

Leave a Reply

